• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 200 other followers

God was murdered

One of my old professors dug this quote up from the second century. I wanted to share it:

‎”He who hung the earth is hanging. He who fixed the heavens in place has been fixed in place. He who laid the foundations of the universe has been laid on a tree. The master has been profaned. God has been murdered.” (Melito of Sardis, On Pascha 96 [c. A.D. 165])

God died. Have you ever thought of that? Because it’s true. God died. Everything Jesus did, He did it as God and man.

So God died. The eternal Son of God, the word made flesh for our sake, the maker of all things, the King of the universe, was killed at the hands of the people he created and sustained.

And Christians are to follow in his footsteps.

36Simon Peter said to him, “Lord, where are you going?” Jesus answered him, “Where I am going you cannot follow me now, but you will follow afterward.” 37 Peter said to him, “Lord, why can I not follow you now? I will lay down my life for you.” 38Jesus answered, “Will you lay down your life for me? Truly, truly, I say to you, the rooster will not crow till you have denied me three times.

I hear Jesus’ words as if directed at me: “Will you lay down your life for me?”

Peter shrunk at first. He didn’t later in his life.

What about you? Will you lay down your life for the God who died for you? Will you lay down your self-reliance, your addictions, your greed, any attempt at righteousness that you can earn for yourself, and, when called, your very life?

God died because of the reckless love he has for his creation. The giving of my life is the only appropriate response.

Leave a Reply

