• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 200 other followers

When God Shows Off

This was the biggest day of my life. I could not have been prepared for the blessings that my Father showered on my wife and I. Let me give you a little insight.

It hasn’t been easy since we moved back to the Inland Empire. Oh, it has been good. Very good. But not easy. We went through an incredibly long ordination process, struggled to find work, learned to live with very little money. On top of that, we have tried to conceive a child. We tried to conceive for almost two years. It is the only thing Ileana has ever wanted. We celebrated with what seemed like a countless number of people, as they welcomed new life into the world. We saw happy surprises, not-so-happy surprises, answered prayers, and little bundles of joy.

And we waited. We waited, and we cried. I pushed some soap around, sold life insurance, and did some online tutoring, all the while wondering when God would have me begin in ministry.

So, we waited. We waited, and we cried. Oh, there were great times. In fact, there have been more good times than bad. But we have felt unfulfilled. Both of us have a vocation. I’m made to be a pastor, Ileana’s made to be a mama. So we waited.

Then, God moved mightily. His hand in this is so obvious that to deny it would require blinders.

Three weeks ago, the Lord gave me dream. I am not much of a dreamer, so it is unique when I have dreams that I remember. I was walking around holding a baby girl. When I woke up, I didn’t take it as a clear sign from God. However, the Lord spoke to me a clear word: PRAY.

He called me to pray. Pray that God would grant that dream as a desire of my heart. So, I prayed. Every day. I prayed that God would give me this dream. I prayed that the dream He inspired would come to fruition.

About a week later, Ileana got a clear sense. The Lord was asking us to fast. That day, we began fasting from food every day until the evening. We were praying for God’s blessing on me for my upcoming ordination and for God to bless us for a child. Looking back, I guess we were asking for the same thing, although it seems like two things. We were asking for the Lord to grant us the vocation he has called us to. We were asking Him to make me a pastor and make Ileana a mother.

So we prayed. We prayed and fasted. And we begged the Lord to do a mighty work. Every day, I laid my hands on Ileana’s belly and I asked Him to make the dream He gave me come to pass.

Yesterday, the Lord heard our prayer. He responded to us with a mighty miracle. First, he turned me loose. I received Holy Orders. When the bishop laid hands on me, a few things happened. First, I became a link in a chain that goes all the way back to the people who walked with Jesus. The Anglican Church believes this, and, given the history of the Church in England, there is no reason to doubt their claim. Second, the Holy Spirit came upon me in a powerful way, granting me the power and the authority to do the ministry He called me to do.

People from all walks of life were there celebrating with Ileana and I. They worshipped in various Christian groups. And, truly, anyone with a spiritual pulse had a clear sense that something very special was happening. That is because it was. I will never be the same. From this day forward, I am anointed for the ministry of a deacon.

Check out these pictures of the new me:

Now, Ileana had a monthly visitor who was running a little late: About three weeks late. We had taken some pregnancy tests about a week before, and the week before that, and one line stared up at us and shouted, “Keep waiting.” We had seen one pink line several times. We knew what one pink line was like. We fully expected to see one pink line again.

 

We always try to wait the three minutes, but I can’t help but peak. So, with my wife in the other room, I peaked down. Immediately, there were two pink lines! I shouted, “Ileana! You’re pregnant!” And we cried again, but this time with the type of tears that people cry when they’re no longer waiting.

 

Check this out:

Now, I know one thing about God. He loves to show off. He loves to show his mighty hand at work. So, when he does great things for us, we are required to share it publicly. So here I am, like the ancient Psalmists, declaring my praise in a public forum.

God has done a miracle. In His timing, He has given us the desires of our hearts. He has responded to our prayers and showered blessings upon us. And He has done it in such a marvelous way that it is impossible to ignore His hand. Joining with the mother of Christ, we sing, “The Almighty has done great things for us, and holy is his name.”

He will do this for you. Cast yourself on the God of the universe. He does incredible things in the lives of his children. It doesn’t always go the way you want it to. Sometimes, you cry out to him for two years waiting for him to move. However, He is a loving Father, and what He has for us is better than what we could imagine.

Turn to Him today. He does great things.

Praise be to God.

8 Responses

  1. That is a blurry pic, but there are definitely two lines

  2. Congratulations!

  3. There is another factor, James, your faith enables God to show off. So many would deny it as coincidence, or luck. You point to God with all that is in you and shout “Praise Him!” I have been, and will be blessed by this faith, and how you portray God in your daily life. This will only increase as the days go by. I am so glad to be a part of that, as a witness to what only God can do with a man’s life!

  4. We are so excited for you and we’re praising God with you! May he continue to watch over you!

  5. James,
    I saw the pictures on your mom’s fb page. You two look so happy on this special day. And then a double blessing, WOW, our God does things in a wonderful day. I know you will be wonderful parents. God bless you two.
    Judy K. Davis

  6. Such an incredible blessing to hear (read) about the last few incredible weeks of your life James! You and Illeana will always be dear in my heart and it is full to bursting with this fabulous news! I couldn’t help but remembering (when you wrote about hearing God say “Pray”) the time when you and I and Brett were driving back from LA (shopping for fabric for the college ministry) and you asked me what God’s voice sounded like. I guess you figured that out! 🙂 Love you guys!

  7. Yes, Jody. On my better days, I am attentive to the Spirit’s promptings and hear what his voice sounds like. Being in a charismatic church has a way of doing that to you.

  8. Congratulations!!! I wish we could have been there/here. Hopefully we will see you soon. Much love!

Leave a Reply

